December, 5/7



The Forum will provide presentations on these sub-themes:

T1. Water, landscape, tangible and intangible heritage

T2. Water, tourism and hospitality

T3. Water resources, territorial management, economic and social impact

T4. Ecological tours

T5. Health and Wellness Tourism, Thermalism, Thalassotherapy and Spa

T6. Water and environmental sustainability: education and communication


General Information

Formatting and submission guidelines

Please fill in the pre-registration form at https://conferencias.uportu.pt/index.php/heritagetourism/heritagetourism.


Abstracts guidelines

The proposals will be evaluted by a two-round double-blind review (first the abstract, second the full paper).

The abstracts should be 300-500 words of length.

When submitting the abstract, please select the sub-theme.

Maximum of two (2) proposals, either as an author or a co-author, may be submitted.


Important Dates

Author registration is open from 30 of April 2016.

Deadline for abstract submission: 15 July 2016.

Accepted abstracts announcement: 31 July 2016.

Abstract revision: 15 September 2016

Deadline for full paper submission: 15 November 2016.


The working languages of the Conference are English, Spanish and Portuguese. Submissions of abstracts are accepted in English, Spanish and Portuguese.


All accepted contributions will be published in the conference electronic proceedings and in the conference digital library.

The paper must be original and not submitted to any other conferences or journals. The IFTH 2016 Committee retains the right to exclude any papers in violation of ethical requirements.


Conference themes

Tourism, History, Geography, Sociology, Psychology, Education, Museums, Communication, Cultural Studies, Heritage Studies, Economic Studies.


Registration Information

All Forum participants must complete the registration process on https://conferencias.uportu.pt/index.php/heritagetourism/heritagetourism/user/account



Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.